[Thailand, south East Asia]
    Click the Image to see Map of Thailand and Guide to 76 provinces for the sights.

    Thailand, kingdom in Southeast Asia, bounded by Burma (Myanmar) on the north and west, by Laos on the northeast, by Cambodia and the Gulf of Thailand (Siam) on the southeast, by Malaysia on the south, and by the Andaman Sea and Burma on the southwest and The geographically shaped like an axe. The country occupies a total area of 514,000 sq km of which 511,770 sq km is on land. It has a 4,863 km long land boundary and 3,219 km of coastline. The capital and largest city of Thailand is Bangkok. The country's extreme dimensions are about 1770 km (about 1100 mi) from north to south and about 805 km (about 500 mi) from east to west. The Chao Phraya, the chief river of Thailand, is the richest agricultural and most densely populated section of the kingdom. The Thai flag consists of five horizontal bands of red (top), white, blue (double width), white, and red.

    Siam is the name by which the country was known to the world until 1939 and again between 1945 and 1949. On May 11, 1949, an official proclamation changed the name of the country to "Prathet Thai", or "Thailand", by which it has since been known. The word "Thai" means "free", and therefore "Thailand" means "Land of the Free."

A mural painting at the Temple of the Emerald Buddha has the epic Ramakian as its theme

    The Central Area is a large alluvial plain called the Menam Basin which in most parts becomes inundated during the rainy season. The basin is interested by winding rivers and numerous canals and streams. Its principal and well-know river is the Menam Chao Phraya or the river of Kings as known commonly to the Western people. Menam means literally in Thai "Mother of Water" or river only. On the left bank of this river, some 40 kilometres from its mouth stands Bangkok, the capital of Thailand, while on its right bank stands the city of Thon Buri which for a short period of time was the capital city before it removed to the present one some 186 years ago. Bangkok and Thon Buri from the Greater City of Bangkok. Its official name in an abbreviated from is Krung Thep which means the capital city of gods.

    Huai Kha Khaeng Wildlife Sanctuary

    The Northern Area is a hilly or mountainous terrain divided by four rivers into four relatively large valleys, which flow to the south and join the river Manam, Its has also as its western and northern boundaries parts of the rivers Salween and Mekong. The well-known chief city of this Area is Chiang Mai which is the second city of Thailand in the degree of its modern development.
    The North-Eastern Area is a saucer-shaped plateau with the great river Mekong as its eastern boundary. It is a poorly watered region known to Westerners as the Korat Plateau, and is the largest of the five areas of Thailand. Its chief cities are Korat (Nakhon Ratchasima) and Ubon Ratchathani.

    The Southern Area is made up of about two-thirds of the Malay Peninsula which has ranges of mountains as its back-bone, on either side of which are coastal plains.