Uttaradit Province

Wat Phra Borom That Thung Yang
    Uttaradit located on a vast area along the bank of the Nan River, Uttaradit is rich innatural resources, forests and mountains. Traces of Pre-historic civilization are seen from the discovery of such a remarkable artefact as the bronze drum at Tha Sao Sub-district in 1927. An evidence shows that Uttaradit became a human settlement before the year 457. The Uttaradit Cultural Center, located on Paetwa road, opposite the governor's residence, is a two-storey wooden house built during the reign of King Chulalongkorn and is a blend of Thai and Western architectural forms. It houses displays of artefacts found in the province.

The name Uttaradit was given by King Chulalongkorn. In the past the province was assessible by only water transport. Cargo ships from Ayutthaya or Bangkok would stop at Bang Pho Tha It Sub-district of Phichai. Bang Pho Tha It thus served as a major port and center for goods exchange between northern and southern traders. King Chulalongkorn established Uttaradit Province 96 years ago when he made a river journey to this area. A royal pavillion was built and a couple of teaktrees were planted in front of Lap Lae District in commemoration of the royal visit.
About 20 kilometers from Uttaradit town in the compound of Wat Phra Fang Swangkhamuninat is the location of Swangkhamuni or Fang City in the Sukhothai Period (late 13th - 15th centuries). During the Thonburi Period (1767-1782), a rebellious group led by Chao Phra Fang gathered in his city and declared its liberation from King Taksinof Thonburi Kingdom. Wat Phra Fang is famous for a circular stupa in the Lankan bell shape and an old Viharn with a magnificent and intricate carved door panel. Built in Ayutthaya Period, the door panel is 5.30 meters high, 2.20 meters wide and 0.10 meters thick. However, this door panel has been brought to be kept at the Viharn of Wat Thammathippathai in Muang District since 1949.
Major historical sites of Uttaradit include Muang Thung Yang and Wiang Chao Ngo, Wat phra Borommathat Thung Yang which is well-known for its Lankan-style stupa. Wat phra Thaen Sila At, Wat Phra Yun Buhdha Bat Yukhon and Wat Phra Non Buddha Saiyat or the Reclining Buddha Temple. Visitors to these old temples will have a chance to observe graceful decorative art as seen from carved door panels of their Viharns.


Monument of Phraya Phichai Dap Hak
Phraya Phichai was a brave hero of Uttaradit, and fought alongside King Taksin the Great. After liberation from Burmese occupation, he was assigned to rule Muang Phichai and promoted to Phraya Siharat Decho. Uttaradit folks have combined their efforts to construct his monument at the Provincial Hall and it was inaugurated on February 20, 1969.

The World's biggest Nam Phi sword.
The World's biggest Nam Phi sword
The sword used by Chao Phraya Phichai was made from high-quality stell known as "Lek Namphi". There are two pounds where the so-called Lek Namphi steel was made. One in Bo Phra Saeng and the other is Bo Phra Khan. Uttaradit Province has built the World's largest Namphi sword. It is 9.24 meters long and weights 450 kilograms of Namphi steel.

For nature lovers, Uttaradit offers diverse unspoilt natural sites attractive to trekkers. The Phu Soi Dao National Park is notable for its unparalleled beauty. The Big Teak Tree Forest Park in Nam Pat District houses the largest teak tree in the world. Aged 1,511 years, the largest teak tree is 37 meters in height and 6.57 meters in diameter. The remaining teak tress reflect the fertility of forestry resources where teak is recognized as the symbol of this province.

Sirikit Dam
The Sirikit Dam is another tourist destination. It is located in Tha Pla District. The barrier itself is 113.60 meters in height and 810 meters in length. Built in 1967 to block the Nan River, the Dam was originally called Pha Som. The upstream part of the dam boasts beautiful scenery especially during the cool season. A big lake called Suriyan Chantra is found at the dam. Here, you can go sightseeing on a boat trip and even experience several types of accommodations and food services. During the boat trip, visitors can also stop to pay homage to the 200 years old Phra That. Built on top of the hill where the dam was built, its white pagoda now looks like an island in the middle of the water.

For those who want to get closer to nature, they are advised to proceed to the Chon Khao Khat Earth Embankment, about 20 kilometers to the northwest of Sirikit Dam. The earth dam is where the Nan River in brown and the Pat River is green meet resulting in a wonderfull two-color waterway. Among interesting tour programs is a boat trip along the reservoir amid natural beauty and fishing. Visitors can stay overnight on board the boat within the reservoir. From the earth embankment at Tha Pla, tourists can travel by boat to the Pak Nai fishing village in Nan Province. They would spend only a few hours to get there.

Namtok Mae Phun
This waterfall is located 12 kms. from Lap Lae Market, being an artificial one constructed by the Province. It looks, however, like a real and its vicinity is shady and pleasant which is a place of Muang Lap Lae that worths visiting.

Sila At Bedstead
This bedstead is located in Wat Phra Thaen Sila At, 6 kms. from the township area on a hilltop with a 60 meters access path, where celebrating fair takes place on the middle of 3rd and 4th lunar months of every year.

Seasonal Langsat is in abundance in
September and October.
Langsat, local fruit grown only in Uttaradit
Langsat (Aglaia domestica Pelleg), the globular yellow fruit, makes a name for Uttaradit. They can be savoured to their utmost in the peak monts of September and October. They are grown in abundance in Muang and Lap Lae districts and bring no less than 100 million bath to the province annually. Uttaradit organizaes the Langsat Fair in late September each year. The fair features contests of farm produce, floral floats and the sale of langsat at low prices. Governor Niruch Vajanapum (1998) has initiated a program to bring tourists to visit langsat orchards and buy the fruit directly from growers.

Uttaradit is accessible by car, train and plane.
Car : Travel along Highway No.1 and then turn to Highway No.32 and No.11. A drive of about six hours will bring you to Uttaradit which is 491 kilometers from Bangkok. Ordinary and air-condinationed buses and coaches leaves the Northern Bus Terminal in Bangkok everyday. Several types of trains leave the Hua Lumphong Railway Station passing through Uttaradit everyday.
Thai Airways International offers a flight from Bangkok to Phitsanulok and the journey takes shade about one hour.

: Tourism Authority of Thailand, 4 Ratchadamnoen Nok Avenue, Bangkok 10100, THAILAND.
Tel. : (66 2) 281-0422 (20 Lines), E-mail : tat@cs.ait.ac.th
: Tourist Service Center (TAT and Tourist Police), Tel. 1155
: Hotel & Resorts in Uttaradit Province